My TSDZ2 casing broke. Are shell replacements worth it or should I consider other options?

ultra_deluxe

Region
USA
My TSDZ2 cracked down the center while climbing a steep hill. This caused the gears to separate enough that they could no longer grip each other.

IMG_20210722_094704_2.jpg

If you're wondering how on earth this happened, I have some guesses but I'm no engineer. For one, I left it out the "fixing block" since it didn't fit my frame, but as a result there was nothing to keep the motor from rotating/vibrating other than some rubber padding and zipties. Also, I was probably on the wrong gear to be climbing a hill. I haven't seen anyone else with the same problem so it's probably not a design issue.

Anyway, there's a die-cast TSDZ motor casing on Aliexpress for $80-ish but I'm skeptical about it. If the stock casing is also made of solid metal and still cracked, what's to keep the replacement from suffering the same fate? And can I reduce the risk of it breaking again by getting longer screws or making some sort of custom fixing block?

You're not alone - the TSDZ2's fixing block didn't fit my bike either, and the motor's casing broke similarly to yours (pic below).
It was fine for several hundred miles with the stock 42T chainring, but I got speed-greedy and slapped a 52T badboy on it.
10 miles into my first ride with 52T and SNAP! I think there was just too much torque without the extra bracing provided by the fixing block.

I got my replacement case from Eco Cycles - their website shows the motor cover replacement but not the case, which appears to be what you need.
Email [email protected] and ask if they'll invoice you for the "TSDZ2 Motor Case Replacement." They're usually pretty fast at responding, shipping etc.
And be careful about the torque sensor ring and three sensor springs when you disassemble!