Chris_x

Hi guys!

I don’t have much experience on bikes, I’m kinda new to all of this. Got a Voltbike Mariner a month ago and yesterday I got a flat tire, a tiny nail punctured it. -_-

What should I do? Just replace the tube? Or do I need to get a new tire too?

Can I patch the tire? How?

Here is the photo of the situation lol

Thanks for your help!

86CE4FE4-542A-488F-8E19-A4AC3C92CCC8.jpeg
F119C5BF-CEDF-4579-B1D7-34FD3167C8E5.jpeg
5C42002C-9797-4F9F-982A-283E92CBCE2B.jpeg

Just patch the tube, you don't have to do anything to the tire. Cleanliness is the key to a good tube repair. They use a mold release on the rubber, and that keeps the patch from sticking. Plenty of videos on youtube for video help.

Just patch the tube, you don't have to do anything to the tire. Cleanliness is the key to a good tube repair. They use a mold release on the rubber, and that keeps the patch from sticking. Plenty of videos on youtube for video help.
Cool, ok I’ll check how to patch it
Thanks!

I'd like to suggest that you consider upgrading to a thicker tube (thorn resistant) and add a tire liner like Mr. Tuffy or other brand to reduce the chance of another flat. Tire liners help deflect glass, nails, goat head stickers and the like from ever getting to the tube. A little added weight which amounts to nothing on an ebike and are inexpensive ways to spend less time dealing with another flat.

Mr Tuffy tire liner.jpg
TR tube.jpg