Should I convert my mtb or buy a pre-made one?

rz514

Region
Canada
Hey everyone!

So i've been researching alot about e-bikes and decided on a e-mtb for pavement\off road use and light mtb \xc trails, and i've fallen on 3000-4000$ canadian range as for what i'd like to do with it and it seems that Surface 604 Shred \ Quad falls into that category as nice e-bikes to get and have fun with.. I am no bike expert but as I look at the components, I have the feeling they are about the same as my Trek Marlin 6 2020 -- and then it made me wonder... What about converting the Marlin 6 into a e-mtb? Is this the way to go since I already own a bike that has similar specs? It would probably cost a lot less to convert than buying a new e-bike but i don't know if there are other factors I am not aware\considering.. I am going to test the surface 604 bikes in a couple of days but i'd like to hear what y'all have to say about this!

Also, if i were to convert the marlin 6 -- would there be any structural integrity issues due to the mods?

Keep in mind, I am beginner level and do not service my own bike .. I can learn if it's required but i'd like to throw that in as I have no idea if a converted bike would be high maintenance vs a purchased one.

Thank you!

Last edited:
Most cities have the odd shop that will do conversion for you. They'll be able to give you best advise about whether middrive or hubdrive is better for your needs. Maintenace is no different than normal bike as its usual mechanical components like brakes and chains that need servicing. Motors and electrics are maintenance free.

Most cities have the odd shop that will do conversion for you. They'll be able to give you best advise about whether middrive or hubdrive is better for your needs. Maintenace is no different than normal bike as its usual mechanical components like brakes and chains that need servicing. Motors and electrics are maintenance free.