Convert Road Bike to Ebike - Advice!

cdb5

Region
USA
Hi All --

I'm thinking about converting an old touring bike into an ebike with a BBS02 mid-drive. Bafang USA Direct is having a presale on kits. But I'm a novice & need advice!

Here's the deal: I have a short (~3.5m each way) commute to/from work, and I pull my daughter in a Burley Bee trailer to day care on the way. I'd like to be less sweaty when I arrive. But more importantly, I live on top of a really steep hill, and I struggle to get up it. It's only a half-mile climb, but it averages a 12% gradient, peaking at 16.5%. So I'm looking for something powerful enough to get up that with only casual levels of exertion from me. And my budget is only around $1,000, give or take. A mid-drive kit for my old Raleigh touring bike seems like the best bet.

Two questions for you experts:

1 - Is that conversion a good/safe idea? The touring bike has rim brakes & narrow wheels. And I'm pulling precious cargo, so safety is a priority. Will I be putting us at risk (well, more risk than biking in a road inherently has) by putting so much power into that kind of setup (as opposed to something with fatter tires, disc brakes, etc.)

2 - What sort of specs should I aim for? These kits have tons of options & I can't tell what's necessary and what isn't. Specifically:
- Will 750W motor be enough? Passenger/cargo payload will be about 240 lbs.
- What chainring size should I pick? 44T has the most torque, but I'd like to have some speed for the rest of the commute (or if I go for a separate joyride).
- Can I get away with a 48V battery, or is 52V necessary for the hill? Is 11.6 Ah enough (Ultra Slim), or should I spring for more (Mini Shark or Jumbo Shark)?
- Are gear sensors really necessary? Seems like a gimmick, but I don't want to break a chain.

Thanks in advance!