When was the last time you rode an acoustic bike?

Mr. Max

Okay, admittedly I'm a newbie to e-bikes. I bought a RadCity on sale in December. Since then, in December, January and March, weather permitting, I've ridden my e-bike exclusively 3-7 days a week (meaning no other bikes). Rad bikes have 5 levels of power assist. I've never gone above level 3. Even just at level 3, with every ride I feel super human. Since it's still winter in New England and lots of salt on the roads, today, I decided to ride one of my other bikes, a Trek Marlin 6, 29'r. Definitely not my carbon fiber road bike, but one that I think can handle road salt and frost heaves. It was way harder to pedal than I remember! In fact, I took another route home that wasn't so hilly. It made me think. When was the last time you rode an acoustic bike? Did it freak you out or do you incorporate acoustic bikes into your regular rides, along with e-bikes?

When I first got my e-bike it was for a long commute. I still rode my me-bike on the weekends. Gradually, I lost my feelings of loyalty to my Surly. I am planning to "ride the plains" in April though and now realize I need to get back on my me-bike just to make sure I'm up to the ride. The nice thing about my me-bike is the wind chill factor is not as severe. Man, I wish Spring would get here.

The last time I rode my analog Romet Wagant (a hybrid bike) was a couple of months ago last year (when I already had my two e-bikes). I had a chore to do at the borough office. It was only 5 km (3 mi) trip overall and I felt very tired afterwards. It felt like pedalling an unpowered e-bike and the fact the Wagant was far lighter than an e-bike didn't help very much.