What to expect with a direct sales bike?

tylerrrrrr

Hi guys -

I'm just starting out down the treacherous path of trying to pick the right e-bike and I've seen a lot of nice bikes in my price range but they are almost all direct sales which means I can't test them out, size them, and I'd have to put it together myself. I'm not an experience bike repair guy (I'm handy and I know youtube can show me how but I haven't done any of it yet...) nor am I really an avid cyclist (I can ride well but I've always just used whatever bike is around).

That said, I'm trying to decide if getting a direct sales bike is going to be a mistake, so I'm asking what to expect if I order a bike from the internet; what kind of problems have you run into? will a LBS help me out or tell me to get lost? Will I regret not getting a mainstream brand?

And also, what is your opinion of these brands:

M2S, Rad, Flex, Surface 604, Juiced

I was in your shoes a few months ago.

A year or even 2 years ago I fell in love with the Radrover from Rad Power Bikes.

The only issue? America only and illegal in my country, at least back then.
So I threw the idea out of my head.

And out of the blue, at the beginning of this year they released a bike specially for the european market to abide with the laws (europe changed some laws beginning 2018 and made this possible).

Was a nobrainer for me, instantly bought the Radrhino and I do not regret it.

Sure, I had to adjust basicly everything, shipping seems to be rough on the bikes.
Brakes, drive train etc. I had to adjust really everything.
But afterwards? In my country a heavy headturner and looker, I often get into conservations cause of this bike :D

Atm I got some issues with the bike, Im not going to lie.
Weird clicking sounds from the front, loose spokes in the back and had a flat 40km ago, but thats all fixable and I already got 600km on this bike in total.
Its crazy fun.