Update on my mis-aventure.

Jason Knight

Region
USA
City
Keene, NH
I never made a proper intro thread. I'm Jason, web developer / accessibility consultant by trade, pain in the arse by nature. I have a lot of physical issues with a locked / fixed ankle, diabetes, non-24 sleep-wake disorder, and a seizure disorder with agonizing migraines due to an overactive vmPFC. Note that's overactive. People with under-function of that same brain area end up psychopaths and religious terrorists. Those of us with over-function, well... we don't tend to "believe". In anything. You end up with an excess of critical thinking that makes you call "BS" on... well...most BS normal people yum up like soft-serve.

Thanks to the non-24 I live a 26 hour day. That means sleeping an extra hour and being awake an extra hour, so every 6 days I'm 24 hours off from the rest of the world. That's why you might see me posting here all sorts of odd/crazy hours. It also means when I'm awake at 3AM with nothing to do, I get on my bike... as such I try to be lit up like a Christmas tree.

I made a previous thread that listed all my upgrades and parts from back in October '21

But over the past couple weeks I've made a number of updates. The biggest of which is a new fork.

It's not the greatest or best, but came recommended from a friend and looked typical of what's available in 135mm width in the style I want at that price point. The extra 40mm of travel and that I was able to adjust it an inch and a half taller than the stock one, and being an inch forward makes a huge difference in how it rides. Looks great too.

newFork1.jpg

newFork2.jpg

newFork3.jpg

The only real problem is that the taller stance has the front brake hose so taut I can't even run it through the fork guide. I've got a real of hose and some fittings on the way.

I also swapped out the front rotor for something nicer and lighter. Ok, it's only 5 grams lighter, but whatever.

newRotor.png

Which is just this el-cheapo.