Are there instances of e-bike road riders getting punished for exceeding legal *power* limits of 750 W (US)

Asher

Let's forget about ebikes going over 28 mph. Are there any recorded instances of e-bikers on roads (or off street bike paths) getting fined or otherwise penalized for either using more than 750w or simply riding an e-bike capable of more?

I feel the speed limit is more or less reasonable, but the power limit prevents you from maintaining speed in traffic on hills, with heavy cargo, headwind, etc. But I've never heard of any enforcement.

Many ebikes out there, including mine, have no motor wattage stickers. This makes such laws difficult to enforce. I don't see this as being an issue until class stickers with motor wattage become universally required on all bikes.

I am not a lawyer, e-bike case law delves into many areas but power levels haven't typically come up yet:

The most relevant case I could find was a guy in Nebraska who sued Currie Tech/Accell for a 500w front hub motor kit bought on Amazon that he claimed malfunctioned causing a bike accident that gave him a TBI
Meyer v. Currie Tech Corp., 2018 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 232773 (United States District Court for the District of NebraskaDecember 20, 2018, Filed)
Defendant argued Currie/Accell was in breach of a federal regulation 16 CFR 1512.12 that requires bicycle front hubs not fitted with a QR lever to have a positive retention feature to prevent the wheel separating from the fork. Currie/Accell's lawyers argued they were not the manufacturer of the bicycle that was converted, the court agreed this regulation did not apply to third party hub motor kits so the claim was dismissed.

Otherwise rider or employer behavior is more common, eg:

People v Lewis, 51 Misc. 3d 372, 28 N.Y.S.3d 762, 2015 N.Y. Misc. LEXIS 4867, 2015 NY Slip Op 25445 (District Court of New York, First District, Nassau County September 21, 2015, Decided).