Emazing Artemis power mods

Dude222

Let's have a discussion about power modding this bike. At the time of this writing you're not going to find a production ebike of this weight (~40lbs) for a better price.

Apparently later versions of this bike have a different controller, but the size specs should be the same if you want to install an aftermarket controller. I'm new to this and I'm open to any suggestions about what kind of controller to get.

2014 Emazing Artemis OEM controller spec:
"Controller for brushless motor"
Rated voltage: 36V
Maximum current: 13A
Rated current: 6A
Low voltage protection: 31V
Throttle adjustment voltage: 1.2V - 4.4V
Product number: L9?856-18-2F X1311024980
Ex-factory date: 11/2013

Another code printed on the controller is:
"CE:G3M20211-1592-16"

The controller mounts to a cover plate that fits on the frame.
(Link Removed - No Longer Exists)
The holes for mounting to the cover plate are about 100mm apart. The cover plate has an extended hole on one end for minor adjustments.

The box-section frame where the controller fits is about 55mm wide and 50mm deep.
The cutout is 50 x 115 mm.

The OEM controller itself is about 95 x 50 x 26 mm.

Last edited:
That is one compact controller!

Before you upgrade any components you have to find out what the operating limit is for each; motor, controller, BMS, battery.. Then figure out how to upgrade without spending a bunch.

Your 8.7 Ah battery has a BMS which probably limits battery output to 12 amps (just guessing).. So if you installed higher output controller, the BMS will limit your motor power. And if you could replace just the BMS that battery pack might not be rated for a higher discharge rate. And range will take a real hit at higher power.