Wheel axle does not fit fork end

mizja

Hello,

I am new to assembling ebikes and bikes in general so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

I would like to convert my old road bike into an ebike with a front hub conversion kit. Everything has gone well so far despite my lack of experience but I am currently stuck. The wheel axle does not fit in the fork end. It is quite difficult to see what actually stops it from sliding in place but I am guessing it is the fork end. Would you suggest to use a file on the fork end until it fits?

I have attached two pictures of the new wheel axle and a picture of the old one.

40493 40494 40495

Since a lot of people suggest not using an aluminum fork with a hub motor, and some of the safety shoulder is missing, my recommendation is to buy a new fork.

Ok thank you very much! I will look into that. I could not find much information about safety shoulder on Google. What is that?

Hello,

I am new to assembling ebikes and bikes in general so I apologize if this is a stupid question.

I would like to convert my old road bike into an ebike with a front hub conversion kit. Everything has gone well so far despite my lack of experience but I am currently stuck. The wheel axle does not fit in the fork end. It is quite difficult to see what actually stops it from sliding in place but I am guessing it is the fork end. Would you suggest to use a file on the fork end until it fits?

I have attached two pictures of the new wheel axle and a picture of the old one.

View attachment 40493 View attachment 40494 View attachment 40495
just remove the excess metal with a file

Hello,

View attachment 40493 View attachment 40494 View attachment 40495

!!!!!!DO NOT USE THAT FORK!!!!!! IF you were using a 250W motor, and there were two torque arms, one on each side, you MIGHT get away with it.

if you motor power more than 350W you need improve with dropout amplifier like that
View attachment 40498