Throttle questions...

Jaeje

Was demoing a Surface 604 and an Elby recently and the LBS tech said that the throttle shouldn't be used under heavy load (as in going up hill). Was made to assist on flatter ground. He said it is too hard on the motor and will damage it.

I am new to biking and not in the greatest shape (yet). I was using the throttle while pedaling with pedal assist when I got tired going up a long hill. Is this incorrect. If range/ power supply were not a concern can you not use just throttle if say your knees need a rest?

Thoughts or recommendations appreciated...

My thought is that if they are selling something that is only good for light use, it's not worth buying. Of course something isn't likely to last as long with hard use. While I am actually pretty new with actual riding I read quite a bit before getting my own. Seems to me there are many riding their pretty hard and getting many miles out of them.

Your knees do get a rest with pedal assist...if the hill is long, increasing pedal assist would be my first choice, with throttle used for the short nasty bits.

RadPower bikes also says in it's owner manual to not uses maximum assist when going up hills. No idea what motors are in a Surface 604 or Elby. A hill and heavy load are quite subjective descriptions. Max watts vs time would define it so much better. Using the throttle and pedal assist at the same time is an odd arrangement. You get a better control by increasing pedal assist levels, or use throttle. Both will not give you more power, the controller limits it no matter how much you ask for.

Thanks all for your replies. I am a newbie and need to get better with the gears and assist levels no doubt. It was that I could pedal softer(slower?) with the help of throttle at times. Sorry not sure of terminology. A little break really helped the knees on a long hill. Maybe I need to stop for a break but the thought of starting up again on a hill scared the heck out of me.