So far, lots of fun with my Frey Beast.

khaoskosmos

Region
USA
Hey Frey folk, I made an introduction post in the at subforum, but figured it would be create a thread here if anyone has any questions. There wasn't much material or videos available when I purchased mine.

It has been such a blast. I live in a rural area, so there are so many places to ride, including my property. I find that I rarely need much petal assist, this thing has so much torque!

I've gotten it pretty filthy a few times. I am also new to mountain biking in general. I haven't had any issues, but I'll try to add my experiences to this thread. I also plan to make a couple videos eventually since there isn't much on YouTube.

Attachments

• IMG_20230325_113450.jpg
    IMG_20230325_113450.jpg
    425.3 KB · Views: 264
  • IMG_20230325_113525.jpg
    IMG_20230325_113525.jpg
    388.8 KB · Views: 271
  • IMG_20230325_113612.jpg
    IMG_20230325_113612.jpg
    388 KB · Views: 249
I had one problem with my BEAST so far.. check the fingers on the battery receiver on the bike, the blades that stick up... Mine sank in the plastic housing and I lost all power.. when I pulled the battery I finally found the blades had been pushed down so they did not contact the battery at all... Fun part was it happened while I was riding and pulling the kids in a cart. Emergency pick up.. We still had a great ride of to that point.
The epoxy that holds the blades in had come loose under the housing.. Talked to frey and she told me to use some kind of Potting epoxy to pour over it again.. I stiffed it with hard foam for now.. The epoxy takes a few days to totally cure so I havnt done it yet but you need to keep an eye on it. Only time I remove my battery is to replace with a fully charged one so not much swapping...

I did an 18 mile ride yesterday towing the Thule cart with my grand daughter Some hills and some wind in your face... 76% battery left I havnt really tracked total Miles yet but It does well.