Riding skills needed?

Martinet

Have started riding as a senior with ebikes after long time not riding. What skills are usefull or needed to ride on roads and bike lanes? I saw a recent Court video in which he discusses bunny hopping curbs. Should I try to learn this or merely lifting the front wheel; what a good way to learn? Any other skills needed on account of higher speed of ebikes versus what I can generate with aging legs alone.

If you can find another ebiker to ride with. Ebikes are a whole nother animal. Like going from a snail to a cheetah. These things rule , highly maneuverable. I'm still learning to blend with traffic. Mine is like a Ferrari , keeping my speed down is my current lesson. Lights are a big help in the daytime. I ride alot in residential areas and I can tell cars can see my blinking light through bushes backing out of driveways. A helmet mirror is a must for me, what you loose in peripheral vision is made up by monitering traffic approaching from behind. Cars act very peculiar around bikes, anticipate this and don't get flustered.

Last edited:
Have started riding as a senior with ebikes after long time not riding. What skills are usefull or needed to ride on roads and bike lanes? I saw a recent Court video in which he discusses bunny hopping curbs. Should I try to learn this or merely lifting the front wheel; what a good way to learn? Any other skills needed on account of higher speed of ebikes versus what I can generate with aging legs alone.
Read Sheldon Brown, arguably one of the best cycling teachers, modern cycling has had.

https://www.sheldonbrown.com/beginners.html

https://www.sheldonbrown.com/frame-sizing.html

https://www.sheldonbrown.com/articles.html

In addition to knowing "stuff", time in the saddle will be your best teacher. It's great you're back in the fold! Enjoy your cycling and time permitting, come back and share your experience.

Last edited: