b-hatch

Hello, I am a college student looking to make my commute to school a little easier while also interested in taking an e bike camping in the future. However being a college student im on a pretty strict budget. I would like to spend 400ish on the kit (Everything minus the bike) I dont need a super long lasting battery, but I would like something that might last(reliable wise) awhile, and atleast reaches around 20mph (faster the better honestly). I was wondering if someone could help me find the best kit for me. Also any suggestions on a bike >300$, I know my budget is small but im not looking for the best bike just something that will last and gets helps me get to school and back. I am 6'0 200lbs.

Hello, I am a college student looking to make my commute to school a little easier while also interested in taking an e bike camping in the future. However being a college student im on a pretty strict budget. I would like to spend 400ish on the kit (Everything minus the bike) I dont need a super long lasting battery, but I would like something that might last(reliable wise) awhile, and atleast reaches around 20mph (faster the better honestly). I was wondering if someone could help me find the best kit for me. Also any suggestions on a bike >300$, I know my budget is small but im not looking for the best bike just something that will last and gets helps me get to school and back. I am 6'0 200lbs.

Hello b-hatch!
Well there are plenty of kits in the $400 range, the problem is they don't include a battery! You will find that batteries are the most expensive part of an ebike. Usually surpassing the cost of either the motor or the donor bike, sometimes both.