need ebike for urban hauling of lots of kit, often with a trailer (London, occasional hill)

chasg

Hi All,

Like many here, I've done a ton of research for the past few months, and I'm still no closer to being able to choose, or even dramatically narrow down a choice of, an ebike for my particular needs. So, I'm hoping that the community here can offer some suggestions!

tl;dr I need an ebike that can haul my heavy and bulky kit (using a specific trailer: Burley Coho XC), around London.

I'm a photographer who lives and works (mostly) in London, UK. I shoot portraits, products and timelapse, and I frequently travel to clients or landscape locations with lots of kit, which is quite heavy and bulky. Before the pandemic, I'd either travel on public transport (big rolling equipment bag plus two tripod bags, 50Kg total or so), or hire a taxi (bigger shoots, with more kit than I can carry: 200Kg or more). But since the pandemic, I've been restricted to biking (non-ebike). At first I was cycling with a large camera backpack on to which I strapped tripods/lighting stands, but it tended to weigh 30-40Kg, and was really tough to cycle with (esp on my backside!). So I picked up a Burley Coho XC trailer (nice and narrow for those busy London streets). On my first trailer test ride, I had an accident (not trailer related), and my bike was a write off. So, I need to replace it, and an ebike seems ideal to deal with all the weight.

My needs:
1) power: it'll need to be capable of hauling a lot of weight:
  • I am 6'2"/183cm and I weigh 120Kg
  • the trailer will almost always be loaded up to its max of 35Kg
  • I would probably still have a 20Kg or so backpack on as well (or have that 20Kg strapped to a really good bike luggage rack).
2) range: doesn't have to be too far, I can't see myself travelling more than 30Km a day when on shooting jobs (though it'd be nice to have something with lots of range, for the times I may want to go on a cycling trip out of London for fun)