TannerPlauche

I am happy to say I have finally joined the e-bike world. I really appreciated people sharing their insights when I was researching bikes, so I am going to write my thoughts here on the ebikereview forum.

I am a big guy, 6'3'', 305 lbs. Though I don't look like it, I love biking and spend a lot of my time in the summer riding. I first learned about e-bikes about 3 years ago when I saw and test road a Stromer ST-1 at a local bike shop. After years of coveting I finally purchased an 2016 iZip e3 Dash yesterday.

I researched and test rode every e-bike I could find. iZip seemed to give the best bang-for-your buck. I got mine yesterday from a dealer in Salt Lake City, UT. I threw a bag on the rack, added a few lights for safety, and put on some clipless pedals.

I am a web/mobile app developer and work in a office setting. I have a 14 mile commute with a few hills, so I haven't been commuting on bike for the past 4 years. I commuted the 14 miles on bike for the first time this morning, and it was smooth sailing. I bust spokes on my road bike on a regular basis, so I appreciate the heavy duty 36 spoke wheels on the dash. I was concerned that the 350 watt motor might be a bit small for a big guy like me, but it did the job well. The real questions will be how it handles the giant hill I have to face going back home. I have about 600 feet of climbing, and it is a gut buster. I'll let you know how the bike handles. So, stay tuned.

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 8.18.19 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2017-02-09 at 8.18.19 AM.png
    275.9 KB · Views: 622
Very nice!

How's the commute on one full battery charge? I used to do a 10 mile commute one-way on my Dash and never ran out of juice on the highest pedal-assist mode, however, my battery has degraded a lot after 2,600 miles of riding and I think it might have trouble going 10 miles at 28MPH. Since I imagine you have a new battery, you should be fine.

Congrats
Yup I agree, best for your money