With the Current Market, Are Conversions Worth it?

PedalUma

Region
USA
City
Petaluma, CA
I have been doing conversions for eight years professionally. I believe in good conversions, one reason is the recycling/cycling concept. Why throw away something perfectly good when it can be updated and its imbedded carbon pushed forward? I have made some very nice all through frame pro conversions with no visible connectors and stealthy batteries. In fact many hundreds. I have also done many new bikes as conversions because of the price spread. But now prices have fallen for new eBikes and quality and feel have vastly improved for many. Even some $1200 bikes are very nice in terms of fit and finish, components, and come with hydro-brakes assembled, such as the Ride1Up Portola. A Specialized Vado that was $4200 dropped to $4000 US and now sells for $2750. It is powerful beyond specifications, well built, quality, and quiet beyond expectations. An Aventon Pace 500 is $1700 assembled and tuned with a torque sensor, 500W motor and a free second battery. And can come with local support if you have a nearby dealer. Can conversions still make sense given these market forces? I am now working 50 hours per week at an all electric bike shop. I have gone to the dark side and today am riding a red Vado 3.

I got the Ride1Up 700 Series a few years ago. Converting a bike to electric was way beyond me. Really, I never thought about an ebike until I started to see them more. They look alright and traffic is horrid. It constantly takes me 40 minutes to travel 4 miles. I knew nothing about where to begin. I spent months looking at different e-bikes and many reviews.