e-bike to e-trike conversion?

wineandcatgal_74

Region
USA
Hello-
I'm new to e-bikes but my city is offering vouchers which makes the idea of using an e-bike very tempting! I live near downtown and a lot of my driving is short distances.

I really want a 3-wheel trike for carrying capability and for stability. I'm a nervous and novice biker. I also regularly carry bulky items, like gallons of water.

Right now there's only one 3 wheel trike being sold by the shops that have joined the program and it's the Pedego trike. It's far from my first choice because it seems to be pretty low power and the cargo area isn't as big as I'd like.

I think that the Ride1 Up Cafe Cruiser or one of the RadPower bikes are my top choices based on price and power.

I contacted one of the bike shops because I found a trike conversion kit but they said it would be too difficult to adapt. I think because it is a rear conversion kit. (https://www.tricycleconversionkit.com/)

It seems like a reverse trike conversion might be an easier option when starting with an e-bike? I found the TReGo but I'm not sure if they'll ship to the US. (https://trego-trolley.com/home.) I asked AddBike if they're shipping to the US now. https://add-bike.com/en/carry-box/#read I also found this: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3256803904078860.html?. I can definitely get it shipped to the US but who knows about quality. I'd have to figure out how to attach a platform or something for cargo capability but I'm sure I could figure that out.

Are there other options that I'm missing? Googling reverse trike gave me mostly motorcycle related links even when excluding motorcycle.

Anything else I should know/consider?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited: