Evelo Omega and Priority Current compared

Doggyman1202

In the fall of 2019, I purchased my first e-bike (Avention Pace 500) and then went through a learning curve of sorts, buying, selling and testing about a dozen models until I happily settled on the Priority Current. The Current met all of my criteria (mid drive belt, IGH, etc.) but early this year I was seduced by the allure of an automatic transmission coupled with generous discounts offered by Evelo, so I pulled the trigger on the Omega.

I'm still very bullish on both machines, and unlike my earlier acquisitions, both the Current and Omega are keepers. I have the Shimano version of the Current. The Omega comes with the Enviolo automatic transmission, but a few users have chosen to ride it as a manual. (The Omega is very customizable by way of the Enviolo app).

I'm not an engineer or mechanic, so this is mainly a non-technical, totally subjective comparison.

Cockpit) I'll give this round to the Evelo. The monochrome display on the Current is no-nonsense and tells you what you need to know clearly. It's not sexy in any way like the slicker, full color display on the Omega. The Omega also shows you battery percentage. That's helpful, especially when you're budgeting range. My main gripe with the Current cockpit though is the location of the front light. It's on the handlebar and has a tendency to move around or flop forward. My friend suffers the same problem with her Current, probably because we spend a lot of time riding on dirt and gravel. It's not a huge deal, but a minor annoyance. The front light on the Omega, on the other hand, is fixed to the frame and stays put. The back light on the respective Current and Omega fender is equally fine. I have not measured headlight lumens on either bike and since we never ride before dawn or after dark, absolute brightness is not a factor for us.