What camera do you use on your rides.

dodgeman

Region
USA
City
Macomb, Illinois
I’m not talking about dash type cameras but for the pictures of your rides you post.

I’m by no means an expert but have been taking pictures since a Cannon 35mm was popular. I had a buddy who worked at a film developing shop and I learned from him, you want good pictures, burn a lot of film. My buddy basically developed his for free, I was to cheap to burn a lot of film because developing pictures wasn’t cheap.

With todays digital world it easy to “burn film” because if you don’t like the picture, just erase it. I have a modern Cannon EOS digital camera with a couple of lenses. It’s just to big and bulky to carry so most of my pictures are taken with Apple IPhone 12 mini. The pictures are surprisingly good but there are limits, mainly by how close you have to be. The zoom quality is limited.

So what are you using for pictures?

I have been using my iPhone, but recently added a Topeak rack and bag, so I plan to bring my Lumix FZ1000 with 25-400mm zoom lens on the more scenic rides, especially when we get the fall colors.

+1 on the Panasonic Lumix series. I use an older compact DMC-ZS3 with 12X optical zoom. I also use my iPhone XS and a GoPro Hero 8 as well.

Pixel 6 Pro. The 4x optical zoom is pretty usable, and Google's computational photography masks a lot of the hw limitations.

I use a Canon Powershot 740 w/40x zoom
I usually stop for a quick photo and move on lest I get shot…still I hadn’t thought about ‘burning film’. I’ll try that.

I retired my DSLR last year as a walkaround camera. The cameras and algorithms on phones these days get me 95% of the way without the bulk. I will say they still fall well short for tele shots, but I don't shoot a lot of those. I'm a media professional so have no shortage of access to quality glass. It's just used on jobs these days.