Upgrade of Huffy Oslo folding ebike

anshaffer

Region
USA
Hello,

I'm very new to ebikes and just purchased the Huffy Oslo 36V 250W folding ebike, which advertised a max speed of 20 mph. Since its arrival I've realized there are bottlenecks on the power that keep me at a max speed on e-assist of closer to 13-14 mph.

There is plenty of torque when I go uphill/into the wind that still keeps me moving around 13 mph even on some decent hills, but when I'm on a flat road it feels as though I'm putzing around -- still at 14 mph.

I'm wondering if it's the 250 Watt motor limiting that speed, the controller, the battery, or all of the above? It really feels like if it wanted to, the 250W could get me up to 17-18mph due to the torque, but that might be my newness to this type of bike. I'd like to upgrade something myself rather than just sell this bike, as it's actually a rather nice feeling bike for a Huffy.

Thank you to anyone for their insights!

Last edited:
Again? It's all of the above and how your geared hub motor is manufactured, and how the controller pedal assist programming ' pushes' the little motor as 'hard' as it can with the energy provided, ( better than with a 'throttle' ) and without damage.
Consider enjoying your eBike while the weather permits.
Good Luck

Hey I got one too on Huffy's clearance, under $400 shipped with taxes. I only rode it once for a few miles with my little grand kid, and most of the time I rode it w/o power so she could keep up. Seems to be a nice bike, but the single pedal assist is funky. It starts up after a few pedal strokes and slowly builds up to max speed. I suspect it goes about 16 mph with ghost pedaling. Very few folders are geared to go 20 mph. This one isn't. Anyway, only one level of PAS and no throttle is not something I will accept on my ebikes.