Total Noob Here, Need Your Help

DaveinMtAiry

Hi everyone, very happy to find this board. I am new at this research and have many questions. First here is my situation.

58 years old, 6'3 240 pounds not in great shape but not a total marshmellow either.. We live in a very hilly area in central MD, so hilly that I need to drive to places to bike. The road we live on kicks my butt. So an ebike would be be great for now but I really will need it when we relocate to the Tennessee mountains for retirement in 7-8 years. Now my questions:

Speed and huge range is not important but I need enough power to handle big hills at my size. Is a 250 W motor w/ 36 V battery enough?

My budget is tight but I also firmly believe in most cases you get what you pay for. However I am finding a number of bikes with good reviews in the $800 range. Is this an ill advised idea? Again I do not need to go 50 miles at 30 MPH but I also don't want to buy junk.

Staying with that some of these inexpensive bikes are available via Walmart. Buying a bike online without riding it scares me. The ability to return it to a store rather than paying to ship back is very appealing. But again it appears as if I am limited to 250 W

How do I know the frame will be large enough for me? Or can that be corrected with an extended seat post?

I have been told ebikes are still relatively new to the States and prices will come down substantially.
I understand they won't come down like big screen tvs did but can I anticipate a drop down the road or have we already experienced that? I don't need the bike now, more for the future. So with that said am I better off waiting as technology continues to improve ebikes as prices continue to drop?

Thanks for your help.

I wouldn't count on an ebike purchased today being very desireable in year 2020. Technology will change. I'm 67, retired with several hub motor equipped bikes with 250-500W motors, 36-48V batteries, and a mid drive conversion. No hills where I live.