Starting my ebike purchase journey

Noobebiker

Region
USA
Hello folks. As my name suggests, I am a newbie to the electric bike world. First off I am ecstatic to have found this site and forums as I have learned quite a bit already (and am sure that I have plenty more to learn). I wanted to start documenting my journey to select an electric bike so that I could solicit some advice along the way and perhaps help someone else in the process. Please forgive the length of this first post as I am doing as much documenting for myself as for this forum.

I used to ride a road bike years ago but that went by the wayside as I got busier with life (and got older, fatter, and creakier). I am 57 now and retiring to a small town in the central coast area of California. It is rural and has hills and plenty of places to ride bikes. My wife (same age but much prettier and skinnier) was thinking about how to make going up and down our driveway and our street more fun and considered a golf cart or some other vehicle but changed her mind after riding a neighbor's Super73. Although neither one of us wanted to have a fast moped-like ride, we both felt that having an electric bike would get us out more and be far more fun. So now starts the journey.

Like many others, I started by searching the web for resources (and found this wonderful place). I learned about mid drive vs. hub motors, mechanical vs. hydraulic brakes, cadence vs. torque sensors, batteries, controllers, and of course all of the things that ebikes share with standard bikes. So here were my basic requirements:
  1. Lower cost would be better (less than $2K)
  2. A step-through so we could get on and off the bike easily
  3. 500W or higher hub motor as I thought it would be easier to get use and for hills
  4. Throttle for starts from stop and hills
  5. Cadence sensor
  6. Disc brakes - mechanical or hydraulic did not matter
  7. Decent components