Searching for the perfect ebike

MCWeber

Region
Canada
Hi EBR, this is my first post here!

I've been riding steel frame road and mountain bikes for 60 years, and now need a bit of assist with the big hills in the area and feel that the right ebike is the solution. My current go-to road bike is a 22 year old Rivendell custom that I've recently fitted with Ultegra 2 x 11 speed components (11-34 cassette and FSA 46-30 crankset); it's a dream to ride.

I've looked at Specialized, Trek and Giant ebikes (amongst others), focusing on their road and gravel bikes, most of which come with carbon fiber frames. And therein begins the set of the problems I encounter when trying to choose an ebike; I have zero experience with carbon fiber frames. Casting about the web I see that carbon frames can last anywhere from a few years to a lifetime, depending on care, maintenance, luck etc etc.

When I discuss fit with any bike shop these days, they don't offer much in the way of reassurance that I'll be comfortable for all day rides. About the only fit adjustment points available are some minor stem tweeks and moving the seat for and aft. Even the stem tweeks are limited due to wire and cable routing. None of the major manufacturers supply their bikes with an uncut steerer tube that can be adjusted for fit.

My Rivendell has the seat and drop bars at the same height, maybe the bars are a bit higher, so my riding position is somewhat upright. I'm not looking for a race bike, just one that's perfect for rambling along the roads all day. I like drop bars for use in stiff winds and steep hills.

I think all of the major brands have sophisticated motor controllers that will allow me to tailor the level of assist to my liking.

Then we come to pricing; the Trek-Spec-Giant bike come in at around $8-10,000. Not chump change considering that I'll need 2. I don't mind spending this much but my concerns give me pause. To summarize my concerns:

1. Fit is most important to me