New rider confession: my butt hurts

FrankR

Region
USA
City
Milky Way Galaxy
I'm new to all this, and I have logged a whopping 12 miles. :)

Having a ton of fun. Most negative aspect so far is - my butt. It hurts when I am riding.

Background - short, old guy, significantly overweight, about to cross over the threshold of 6 decades. I don't think it is my bike. My bike came with what appears to be a very nice seat.
But man, my butt does hurt, and it is keeping me from longer rides.

Will my butt break in :) , with this getting more comfortable?

I'm new to all this, and I have logged a whopping 12 miles. :)

Having a ton of fun. Most negative aspect so far is - my butt. It hurts when I am riding.

Background - short, old guy, significantly overweight, about to cross over the threshold of 6 decades. I don't think it is my bike. My bike came with what appears to be a very nice seat.

Will my butt break in :) , with this getting more comfortable?
Hi Frank!
I already have a significant e-biking background so think I could chime in.
Man, I have experimented with so many saddles! My e-bikes are equipped with excellent suspension seat-posts. And... What I have discovered after 2 1/2 year of e-biking was I was taking too upright position on my e-bikes. Many people either buy "comfortable upright" e-bikes, or do anything possible with their mods to sit upright. However, that makes the most of your body weight resting on the saddle: The sore butt is unavoidable.

When I discovered that, I lowered the handlebars in my two most used e-bikes as much as possible. When I ride the e-bike that lets me taking a forward position and part of my body rests on my arms, no pain in the ass anymore! :)