Internally Geared Belt Drives, Conversions

PedalUma

Region
USA
City
Petaluma, CA
I have been running IGH internally geared hubs for a few years and love them. They are reliable and there is no derailleur to get bumped or dirty.

Here is one Cool Cargo Grade IGH for eBikes.

https://support.enviolo.com/hc/en-u...enviolo-Cargo-internal-gear-hub-specification

100Nm, 500W nominal.

550 pounds of load. Bike + Rider + Cargo + Climb

380% Ratio

Dropout width 135mm – Not Boost.

Works with Veer Split Belt 9-Spline Cog for retrofit. https://www.veercycle.com/products/enviolo-rear-sprocket-replacement?variant=32446008492110

Multiply chain teeth to belt teeth by 1.59 to calculate Veer equivalence. Example a 45-t chainring = a 72-t Veer beltring. A 19-t cog = a 30-t Veer belt cog. At 90Rpm cadence this will give a speed of 10Mph in low gear and 33Mph in high gear.

Last night I put a half-link chain on one of my bikes that is as strong as a belt, but not as easy to keep clean. Zoom to see the wide chain.

Attachments

• UnionJack07.JPG
    UnionJack07.JPG
    639.1 KB · Views: 353
Efficiency maybe 80%? Only 8 planetary sets in my sturmey archer S80 added ~10% time to my 30 mile rides, averaged over 18 trips. Compared to shimano 7 speed freewheel. Enviolo has 11 planetary sets, right? They all spin all the time.

ok so I followed your link...
"Max nominal power input from the drive system: 500W"
so is it max or nominal??? 🤯

I think that they are saying that the largest nominal power to run into this hub all day long would be 500W.
Efficiency maybe 80%? Only 8 planetary sets in my sturmey archer S80 added ~10% time to my 30 mile rides, averaged over 18 trips. Compared to shimano 7 speed freewheel. Enviolo has 11 planetary sets, right? They all spin all the time.
That is interesting. So if I understand you, your IGH was 10% slower than a freewheel cluster with a derailleur? And are you saying that the more planetary sets, the less efficient?