Possible to Add a Rohloff SpeedHub & Belt Drive to a Juggernaut 1000?

basmasta7

Hi all,

I recently got a Juggernaut Ultra 1000, and while it's been fantastic, I'd love to add the simplicity of an IGH and belt drive to it. The Rohloff SpeedHub seems like a great option since it can handle the torque, has a huge gear range, and it's compatible with a belt. I'm very mechanically inclined, but I'm new to working on bicycles, so all the different options and terms have been a challenge in figuring this out.

Rohloff SpeedHub (with or without a belt):
Cycle Monkey has an "XL Fatbike" version, which I imagine would be suitable for the Juggernaut, but there are quite a few options to select:
  • Axle Size:
    • Options are "10 x 170mm" or "10 x 190mm".
    • Based on the specs listed on the Biktrix website, it looks like the 190mm option is correct.
  • Axle Type:
    • The options are "Threaded", "Quick Release", or "Through Axle".
    • The quick release is the only option available in 190mm spacing, so this seems like the right choice.
  • Rohloff Axle Plate:
    • OEM2 is the only available option with the 190mm quick release. Will this work?
  • Rohloff Gear Mehanism:
    • External is the only option. This seems like the correct choice based on the description (compatible with disc brakes)
  • Spoke Count:
    • Options are 34H and 36H. Based on the Biktrix website specs, 36H is the right choice.
  • Other Req'd Accessories:
    • It seems like I'll need a Speedbone and probably a chain tensioner (if I go with a chain vs belt). Is that right? Is there anything else I'd need?
    • Would I need to do anything special with the shifter cables?

Belt Drive:
  • The Juggernaut does not have a split frame, so I realize "normal" belts won't work, but Veer makes a "split belt" and a "Rohloff Rear Sprocket Replacement" that makes it seem like this could work.