GPS or odometer?

hoagie

Region
USA
City
St Peters
It seems every Ebike I have owned in is 5%+ optimistic vs the app I use. I’ll take the 33.3. 😅

Attachments

• IMG_5156.jpeg
    IMG_5156.jpeg
    254.7 KB · Views: 112
  • IMG_5158.png
    IMG_5158.png
    572.6 KB · Views: 128
I got into a friendly argument with my bike shop on this very subject. I’m a retired land surveyor and used GPS a lot for my work. Through experimenting with the survey grade GPS, truck speedometers and my phone I feel phone gps is more accurate.

Phone gps isn’t very accurate, they say 10 meters but on average it’s probably more like 3 meters. Picture yourself standing in one place and your position is jumping around 3 meters, that’s not very accurate. I feel that through software advancements they have ”smoothing” techniques in the phones that make your location and speed more stable and accurate.

Sorry for the long answer but I feel the gps is more accurate.

A few bike displays and most all $10 bike computers will take the wheel diameter or circumference to 1 cm precision. Then compare the actual distance with the reported distance and refigure the wheel size. Your weight on the bike, and tire pressure will affect that. Maintain both and it's always going to be the same.
My limited use of GPS on phone is via Strava, which I didn't find that useful, but it was probably my phone losing connectivity. Half my attempts to use it rended with only partial recording or mileages I knew were too long, but I liked the silly names that Strava would assign to the little stretches of my ride.