Do most speed sensor systems use a magnet that's mounted to a wheel spoke

TedCot

Region
Canada
Hello,

I'm a newbie who's shopping for his first ebike.
After doing some research, I've sort of narrowed my choices between Specialized and Giant.
Specialized seems to provide a very well thought-out package but problems with their motors sort of deter me.
Giant also seems to offer a good package but definitely not as complete as Specialized.
What turns me off, in particular, is their use of a magnet being mounted on a wheel spoke to measure speed.
Is this common practice for ebike manufacturers?
Magnets mounted this way can get knocked out of place or off the wheel altogether, which can be particularly problematic for ebikes.
Do other brands other than Specialized mount their magnets elsewhere on the wheel.
Thanks.

its not really a issue two of my bosch bikes have them get the positioned right and tight they are petty reliable. having it on the hub is nice but it limits to you to the rotor type the biek came with. like my trek has a sensor on the disc on a 6 hole bolt mount. so whe nI got new wheels I was stuck with that over a qucik lock disc. Plus I bumped the sensor getting the wheel on and cracked the mounting hole.

No interest in a throttle?

To answer your question about magnet location, yes, mounting a magnet to a spoke is pretty commonly done on a lot of bikes.

What turns me off, in particular, is their use of a magnet being mounted on a wheel spoke to measure speed.
Specialized and Giant e-bikes have the magnet mounted on the hydraulic brake rotor. What e-bike model are you talking about?!

1691428603734.png

The speed magnet in a Specialized Vado e-bike. There is a bracket with the magnet screwed to the rear brake rotor. The speed sensor is tucked into the e-bike chainstay. (The 6-bolt type bracket/rotor).

1691429088601.png

The speed magnet bracket in a Giant Trance E+ e-bike. There, the mount type of the bracket/rotor is Centerlock.

1691429190629.png