Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0, Cannondale Tesoro Neo X Speed or Trek Allant+ 8S???

sherlockbonz

Region
USA
Hey Ebike Reviews Forum members, I’m new here and looking for some help in choosing my first eBikes.

Some background; my wife and I are in our mid 50’s, and have been riders off and on for the last 30 years. My go-to bike is a 1992 Trek 8900 frameset with a 1985 vintage Deore XT drivetrain. I’ve also got a Domane with Ultegra gear and my wife has a classic Waterford with Ultegra. I worked at a bike shop for about 15 years and working on bikes is a hobby. (I’m an engineer as well, so I am probably grossly overthinking this whole decision).

We live in WI, and most of our riding would be done on recreational state trails, relatively flat, and probably 70% paved and 30% “other”, primarily packed dirt/gravel. Typical rides would be 30-60 miles which we can do comfortably now on our regular bikes. Goal would be to do a weekend overnight trip with 65 miles each day.

I’m looking for class 3 mid-drive, and I’ve narrowed my choices to three, with two alternates that have “fatal flaws” for me. Since I need to buy 2 bikes, plus a new eBike rated rack I’d like to keep the bikes in the $3500 - $4000 range each.
Here are my choices, with my perceived pro’s and con’s. Any input/comments/corrections would be appreciated:

First choice – Specialized Turbo Vado 4.0. 650B wheels, 48T chainring with a SRAM 11 speed 11-42 cassette.
What I like:
  • Seems to be the best “bang for the buck” at a street price of about $3250.
  • 710Wh battery is the largest in the group I am looking at.
  • 70N-m motor, so to me a lower wattage motor + higher watt-hour battery = best range.
  • Plenty available.
  • Two LBS to work with for service.

What I don’t like: