DIY Dual Motor EMTB/Cargo Suggestions

SCIFIcrab

Region
USA
I am relatively new in the world of ebikes, but have good experience working on bikes from my time working at a bike store.
My current ambitious project is to build an ebike capable of hauling up to or near 100 pounds of cargo in off road condition similar to a bike packing mtb setup, but with more weight.
Idealy I would want this bike to function more like motocross style bike with pedaling not used very much but it might be necessary to give the required power for steep hills.
I am not too sure what would be the best type of motor + controller for this application, but would love to hear some suggestions!

I've got a little experience with this :) . I've done the awd thing and the super heavyweight cargo thing.

I can tell you without hesitation your best motor choice will be a BBSHD in the back and a fat hub in the front. the problem with that is there are no fat front hubs available on the market at this time (If you find one, please let me know). In fact I just went a few rounds with a Chinese seller who was advertising 135mm Bafang G060's (the gold standard) and it turns out they are out of stock, likely never had them in the first place.

When looking into carrying serious weight, you need to realize what you are getting into. Myself personally, with a heavily modified Surly Big Fat Dummy (super strong custom wheels, BBSHD, custom wideloaders) I have crossed 565 lbs in total system weight. The issue is balance. Put 120+ lbs even low on wideloaders that are perfectly balanced and you are essentially in for the ride of your life at 5-8 mph, and even with the best brakes, your challenge when slowing is not about stopping, its about the risk of losing your delicate balancing act and crashing over. When a 500 lb bike falls over, stuff breaks.

Only one kind of cargo bike - other than a tricycle which is sub optimal for bikepacking - can handle these kinds of loads without balance issues - a frontloader.