cool weather gear

Hugh

I,m heading down to my local bike shop to pick up a little cool weather gear in a few minutes. The temperature in the mornings when i ride to work is averaging 3 to 5 degrees Celcius which is just a little above freezing. So a pair of insulated gloves and some type of an insulated skullcap to fit under my helmet for starters. When i started riding to work this spring once the snow and ice had gone my hands were often so cold as to be useless for a the first few minutes after arriving. I did look into battery heated gloves but the reviews are generally poor. They have Outdoor Research gripper gloves which should help and if necessary a pair of cycling poagies will be added. I first used poagies on my kayak in spring weather, for anyone not familiar with the term, they fasten with hook and loop over the bars, are large enough for gloves to slip into and keep wind and rain, etc off hands and or gloves. The poagies i found at a company called Mountain Equipment Co-op.

@Hugh looks good! Here in the southern 48 we more often call pogies, bar mitts. There was a good discussion here last year about them and many riders love them. I have a really nice pair of of Pearl Izumi gauntlet gloves I got 2 years ago and found them indispensable.

Here in PA we are still behind you on temps, but you are right on in timing. Thanks for reminding me!

This is a great thread. Ebikes incentivise o_O people to keep riding longer into cold weather. Love hearing about the options!

I picked up a pair of Outdoor Research gripper gloves, so far in the morning rides they have been windproof and fairly warm, but it has not gotten very cold here yet, been averaging around 6 to 10 degrees celcius. Have not needed to use the insulated skullcap under the helmet yet. I have taken to wearing my thin leather jacket with a reflective vest over it though, the added warmth has been great. Like in Game of Thrones -winter is coming.