Enviolo or Rohloff?

Cybersnow

Region
USA
I live in a very mountainous area and am finding my current E Bike a bit underpowered. I am looking at a line of mid drive motors that increase my torque from 85Nm to 120Nm for the same wattage. We do not do single track or fully loaded long distance (+350 mile) touring, but do ride our bikes various steep roads and fire trails. My question then is on the type of hub to go to. My two choices are the Envilio or the Rohloff. I am looking for some input from riders familiar with either or both.
Thanks in advance.

Being a retired engineer, i called the engineering group at both facilities. The Enviolo folks basically said that it was primarily an urban hub that performed well in flat and rolling hills. The Rohloff folks explained their hub was made especially for e-bikes that needed to pull long steep hills. I also checked with two of my favorite bike shops who had experience in the kinds of riding we still do and they recommended the Rohloff. So I just ordered a Zen Photon Ultra with the Bafang M620 motor and the Rohloff hub.

Being a retired engineer
...you should be aware the Torque = Power / Rotational (angular) speed (rad/s). The rotational (angular) speed at the chainring remains the same in the same gear and at the same e-bike speed with the same wheel size. If one e-bike mid-drive motor can deliver 85 Nm and another 120 Nm, it simply means the max motor power for either is dramatically different.

Last edited:
Translated into two identical bikes riding up the same hill ridden by the same rider and one bike is a 750w 50Nm motor and the other is a 750W 120Nm motor, would the ride up be different? While my leg power is not calibrated I can say that the second bike was easier to ride and was significantly faster In the same set of gear ratios.