What happens when your Ebike you ordered on the Internet breaks?

Taylor57

I called around to a local mobile bike repair and a bricks and mortar bike repair shop here in Palm Springs. What I found out from both is interesting. Both are hesitant bordering on refusing to work on Ebikes. The reason:

" You worked on my ebike to fix X, and now Y does not work". I wonder if it is the ebike shop screwing up or the customer being unrealistic? It sounds like more a function of the bike shops not being very well versed in Ebikes and not having the expertise to fix our electric beasts. I'm wondering how good they are at fixing their own brands they sell like Trek, Specialized etc. I'm an insurance agent, but if I was 20 years younger I would be an Ebike tech!

I guess my Ebike shop will continue to be a Youtube video!

My local Specialized bike shop is well trained in servicing Specialized e-bikes and sell all they can get.

I can understand a shop not wanting to deal with the electronics but a tire?
I hear ya, but these days I am not surprised. Even my old mechanic was struggling with fixing my Audis. It got to where I would have to go on Youtube and find the video on how to fix my own car. Some shops and mechanics stay up with tech and it appears many elect to remain in the dark. I now just pay the money to the dealer...

I can understand a shop not wanting to deal with the electronics but a tire?
Removing and remounting a rear wheel on a rear hub drive bike is non-trivial work and the details may vary from model to model. The shop's concern that they would get blamed for any connector or motor problems post-fix are legit. The first time I fixed a rear flat it took nearly two hours, though a lot of that was watching videos. Now I have it down to half an hour, but don't bother carrying the tools to do it on the road. 40 bucks cash and "yo, taxi!" is my plan if it happens too far from home.