Throttle or no throttle. That is the question

Nexus

Region
USA
I am new to E bikes and EBR. Have been reading a lot of posts on the site and doing a lot of research on so many E bikes.
When it comes to throttle or no throttle and why some manufacturers decided not to put a throttle on is puzzling to me.
There was a time when I would never think of in a E bike. It's like cheating but I had both my knees replaced recently and
this puts me back in the game again. Personally I would prefer throttle in case my knees give out for whatever reason.
But the new Fuell is a class 3 28 mpg with no throttle and a Enviolo Aurora Limited class 2 20 mpg has a throttle why.
It seems to me you took yourself out of sales. If you did put a throttle on the owner who doesn't want to use it
wouldn't bother them. Somebody needs to enlighten me a little on the subject

In the US, most states have adopted the 3 class model where class 1&3 are pedal only (limited to 20 & 28 respectively), and class 2 is pedal+throttle (limited to 20). Manufacturers have for the most part followed that. For most of the country, if you want a legal bike with a throttle you're looking at class 2s which are limited to 20mph. If you're fine with being in a legal grey area, some manufacturers have decided that class 3s can have throttle as long as it cuts at 20 (which is almost certainly not strictly following the law, but your odds of actually being hassled for it are probably extremely low). Or you can just look at the various chinese imports that follow no rules at all and can get something with throttle that basically goes as fast as your heart/pocketbook can handle.