Senior Project Design with DC Brushed Motor

Loker

Hi all,

I’m studying electrical engineering at university and I’m working on putting together an electric bike for my senior project . I have an old brushed DC hub motor and three new rechargeable 12V lead-acid batteries that have a capacity of 15Ah each. I also have a bike frame that fits my hub motor and an ebike throttle I inherited from one of my dad’s old projects. I’ve looked extensively but I can’t find any specs on my motor online.

The thing I’m struggling with is I have no idea how to build a control unit between the batteries and the motor. I think a buck converter whose output voltage is somehow regulated by the position of the throttle might work but I have a strong feeling that there’s more to it than that.

Does anyone know of any resources detailing the typical circuitry between batteries and a brushed DC hub motor in the context of electric bikes?

Any and all replies are appreciated!

-Sean

Please attach some photos, maybe other members will recognize the motor. I have experience with old lead acid ebike and I even added a PWM controller to it. Maybe I can help you.
$_35.JPG

s-l1600.jpg

https://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-24V-48...111851538617?_trksid=p2349526.m4383.l4275.c10

Last edited:
Brushed motors are obsolete because of the dropout problem. When they sit around the brushes lose contact with the commutator, which oxidizes. Then when you need it, it has to be disassembled and cleaned. Factories that used DC conveyor drive as late as the 00's had grim startup procedures on Sunday nights.
Modern bike motors resemble 3 phase induction motors ala Tesla, and controllers resemble variable frequency drives used on factory motors. Factory 3 phase motors run off DC rectified off the AC line, then the phase rotates around the field slightly ahead of the speed the motor is supposed to run.