Online E-Bikes - is it a scam?

Bardo

Region
USA
I am a newbie looking for an e-bike for my my wife and myself to cruise around the our beach town in New Jersey. Looking for something entry-level in the under $1500 range. I find our options are some really inexpensive ones on Amazon (Jasion, Oraimo) and a number of online sellers which I am hesitant of as their websites all look the same. I am wondering if there is one manufacture in China behind all these. My facebook feed is flooded with them. Names include; KBO, Ride1uo, Aventon, Rattan, Urtopia, Story, Intheair, Jaison, Cityscape, Murf, Mod, Vtuvie, Back to Modern, Mihogo, Max-Foot, Jetson, MacFoxBike, JackRabbit, Sole and the list goes on daily. I like KBO and Urtopia but wondering if all the bikes on this list are just Huffy's with motors.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Its not one manufacturer. It is several who in turn sell to hundreds of wholesalers who represent themselves as manufacturers. There are some American companies who do this as well and the secret message to figure this out is when they tell you in their advertising that it is "designed in the USA". Translation: They chose parts out of the Chinese manufacturer's available pick list and had a shipping container filled with them sent over on a boat to the States.

Calling the bottom of the line Amazon bikes "Huffys with motors" is an insult to Huffy, I'm afraid.

At the $1500 price point, go to some place like Lectric - not on Amazon, go to their direct web site.

All bikes are made in ***** except Gazelle and maybe another Dutch brand. Pedego is Viet Nam now.