My next e-bike needs to be more winter/hill friendly

VirtuallyMiranda

Region
Canada
I have been riding a RadMini since 2018. While it’s been great in many respects, my use pattern and needs have gradually changed, and certain limitations — as well as its gradually-declining battery life — have become evident. As I start looking for my next bike, I am especially interested in something more winter-friendly, for someone dealing with steep grades, lots of snow/slush/salt/sand and without the ability to bring the bike inside (re: cleaning, battery, etc.).

Here is my list of important criteria:
  • Removable battery
  • Relatively high torque / power for hauling a grocery trailer up a 5-7% grade
  • Carbon belt and internal gear hub
  • At least a moderately high range of gears
  • Stable handling on steep descents at higher speeds
  • Hydraulic brakes
  • Rims for which after-market studded tires are available
Bonus features on the wish list:
  • Lighter weight
  • Available small frame size
  • Fenders, kickstand included
  • Heavy duty rack
  • Integrated headlight and taillight

Not particularly important:
  • High range
  • Anti-theft features
  • Suspension fork
  • Foldability/portability
So far I’ve seen the Zen Samurai and the Specialized Vado. Would love to know of any others that might tick my boxes :)

Miranda

Last edited:
any of the name brand mid drives should fit the bill except for the carbon belt and Hugh gear range. that part is going to be really hard to achieve. but 5 to 7% grade is not very steep.

any of the name brand mid drives should fit the bill except for the carbon belt and Hugh gear range. that part is going to be really hard to achieve. but 5 to 7% grade is not very steep.
It is when it is a 3-mile hill and you are towing a cargo trailer through snow and slush. It’s fine, but I wouldn’t want much less power than the RadMini gives me.

Agree that the carbon belt / IGH are the tough boxes to tick.