Help choosing first Ebike!

pjt729

Region
USA
I have been researching for a couple months and I still can't decide. Would love some thoughts and opinions from posters here. I'm a big guy at 250 lbs so I want enough power. There aren't a ton of hills around me but to commute to work there is a hill that's about a half mile long that has a peak grade of 8%. I also live at the highest point in town that requires going up a fairly consistent 10-15% grade for nearly a quarter of a mile to get home. Maybe this wouldn't be as big of a deal if I could have some speed heading into the hill but it requires stopping at a stop sign and then crossing the street going right into the hill which allows basically no speed pickup before getting into the hill A couple other notes, I have torn my ACL and dislocated my kneecap which leads to problems on how much force I can apply while pedaling. As much as I love the sound of the fluid power given by torque sensors, I'm not sure that would work for me.

Budget could be stretched to $3,000 if absolutely necessary but I would like to keep it in the $2,000-2,500 range (or less) if possible.

Now onto the bikes I've looked at. Let me know if I'm wrong in my descriptions and add any suggestions.

Surface 604

There is a dealer about 10 miles from me so I won't have to worry about finding a bike shop that will work on a bike which is great. The downsides are the bikes only get 65 nm of torque and peak at 750 watts as well as a torque sensor.

Sondors MXS

Very affordable. Seems like decent components. 80 nm of torque and 1,000 watt peak motor seems like it should get me up the hills? Don't really like the battery box but that's just cosmetic and I'd get over it.

Dost Kope