Go For $$ Or Not?

Cowlitz

I've been riding a Rad Mini bike around for a couple of years. I'm hooked. Now I'd like to upgrade to a more comfortable, long range touring bike. I've been drooling over descriptions of the Reise and Muller double battery bikes, but I am indoctrinated to be cheap. But, I might be able to overcome that. Are they worth it? I live in the Okanogan Valley in Washington the State, which is not a bike mecca. We have a local bike shop that is open only for a few hours three days a week. I can drive 40 miles over a little mountain pass to get to a full time bike shop, or two hours to Wenatchee. Do these bikes take a lot of adjusting? Do the hydraulic brakes take a rocket scientist to repair or adjust? Are parts hard to get?

I was going to go for either a Trek Verve or a Giant Lafree, but am wondering if a bike capable of longer trips might be better. The cheap side of my brain is arguing with the other side. :)

The good thing about having a Rad is that my friend and I (we both have minis) are learning a lot about ebike mechanics and fixing stuff. I'd keep my mini for riding in the woods. It's a lot of fun to ride on the logging roads around here.

So, I guess the subject is Should I Spring For A Mercedes Instead Of A Ford?

Mercedes. But maybe I have a much different outlook at the age of 66. My active years are counting backwards and staying active and having pleasure doing it are my top priorities now. I had to adjust to spending $3,000 on Haibikes, but haven't looked back. I have over 2800 miles on each of those so you know, $1 per mile and so far the cost per mile continues to drop. Spent more on the Ruffian I bought last January. Now that is getting into my extravagant range, but I smile every time I get on it. Life isn't a practice run, buy it if you can afford it!