e-bikes as a new vehicle type, not the same as bicycles but also not anything like motorized vehicles we know

stw

Region
USA
I'm new to e-bikes and a long-time cyclist who also likes motorcycling but hasn't done much of that in a while. The thread about the Japanese response to introduction of fast illegal Chinese-sourced e-bikes, made me wonder whether I'm being too limited in how I think about the e-bike and maybe it's a new vehicle type entirely rather than just an easier and/or faster bicycle.

There was video review posted in that other tread of the Super73 and Juiced machines that will make some people think: "see this is showing what e-bikes could be and how they can change what we expect," and others will think "see this is why e-bikes are going to get kicked off the streets(and paths and trails)."