Are eBike bans actually enforced?

bikeman242

Read over a lot of threads about places/trails where eBikes aren't allowed, and I am wondering if anybody actually gets stopped/ticketed/bike confiscated for riding an eBike anyway. Not including NYC, because I know there it is certainly enforced. Just curious.

I ride a great many trails in the northeastern part of the country where ebike laws are sometimes confusing and vary greatly from state to state. In some cases, I don't know for sure if it's technically legal to ride or not.

Most trails have "No Motor Vehicles" signs posted but unless they mention ebikes specifically, I usually take a chance. My bike is somewhat stealthy, I'm overly courteous to others and I don't ride like an idiot. I've been riding this way for 2 years now and so far, have not been stopped or questioned. I don't advocate breaking the law but when they are unclear, I usually give myself the benefit of the doubt.

Sadly, I see an end to my riding philosophy in the not too distant future. The growth in ebike popularity is putting more and more "outlaws" on the trails, riding with total disregard for others and the environment. Ebike laws and specific signage banning them are sure to follow. The reckless riders I see are mostly youngsters who don't care about the law and will ride anyway. Unfortunately, It is the rest of us and the industry itself that will suffer.

Last edited:
This thread is about the United States/Canada but let me share my Polish experience. There happen to be road segments marked as "No bicycles allowed". Typically, there is a bike lane running in parallel. Fine, but it is not allowed to ride Class 3 e-bikes on bike lanes. What to do? I don't care and ride the bike lane but slowly. Interesting fact is I used to ride my Class 3 e-bike for a month before it got registered, no registration plate yet. The police patrols even didn't turn their attention even if I took a rest and was sitting couple of meters from the policemen.