Adjust settings to get more torque?

duggie

Region
United Kingdom
Hi folks. I've just bought my first ebike, and I would like to know if I can adjust my settings to get more torque.

I'm a beginner on a learning curve. I'm happy enough with the whole bike, but if I could buy another I would go for more torque. The torque at the moment is 53Nm.

I bought the bike with a special purpose in mind which is to get me to and from my allotment which involves a steep hill. I tried it today and it would just about do it with pedal assistance. I reckon 70Nm would make all the difference.

So I'm not bothered about speed or range.

I don't know the make of my ebike. But it is a 20 inch fat tyre, folding, step through, rear drive, 1000w 48v 18ah with an M2 display panel.

If you need more info to help answer my question please just ask and I will try to provide it.

Duggie

I found with a 1300 W ebikeling geared hub motor, that wattage from 500 to 1300 did not increase torque that much. As in the acceleration did not increase with the excess wattage. I had a throttle so I had direct control of the watts. My controller went up to 30 amps.
A Mac12t hubmotor would increase torque because of the extra windings, but I haven't been able to buy one since I burnt the pins off mine in the rain. Clutch had worn out, too. You can still buy a pallet of 8 on alibaba for ~$1600 + freight + customs, but I haven't found anybody selling singles. Getting the motor laced into your wheel is up to you or your serviceman. I paid $730 for mine so $1600 for 8 is not unreasonable. But I can't read chinese to understand if I was buying rear or front motor (width), with or without freewheel flange, how long a wire harness I could have.
If you reduced to 2.1" tires it would help reduce drag. Would require skinnier rims, though.

How do you know you have 53nm if you don't know what bike you have? That would be from a spec sheet, but in my opinion, most of that stuff is exaggerated or made up anyway.