Unicorn search? Off-road fat step-through + internal hub?

CCroft

Hello!

I’m looking for what might be unicorn, but wanted to see if anyone has ideas/suggestions. I’m a backcountry nature photographer/trail camera enthusiast and have been using a BBSHD-converted fat tire e-bike for several years now to get to rough/remote locations. I’ve spent enough time on that bike to realize that my ideal backcountry e-bike would have the following:
  1. Step-through frame (maybe a frame design like this) that is strong enough for 275-300lb rider+ gear weight over rough/bumpy terrain
  2. Mid-drive, at least 750w, not torque-sensing, and ability to add throttle (user-adjustable assist levels + throttle like BBSHD are perfect for me/my riding)
  3. Belt rather than chain drive (this is the least important of my criteria)
  4. Tubeless-optimized fat tire wheels
  5. Internal hub rather than a derailleur, since weeds/grass often clog my derailleur, and I replace hangers 2-3x a year with the leggy derailleur getting abused by rocks, logs, etc.
I’d need a quiet internal hub. I upgraded my current BBSHD conversion to an Onyx rear hub to eliminate that pawl clicking, which has been great for the kind of “in nature” riding I do. I’m guessing no internal hub is that quiet, but from video of the Rohlhoff, I can say that would definitely be too loud for what I want. If there are no reasonably quiet internal hub options, I’ll probably just scratch that idea and live with cleaning the weeds/grass out of the derailleur and the annual derailleur replacement.

If such a bike doesn’t exist, what would be the best strategy for assembling one? Perhaps finding a bike that meets 1.-4., then switch out the rear wheel for a custom rear wheel build with an internal hub (assuming a reasonably quiet one exists)?

Last edited:
Maybe a unicorn, but you can get close if you peruse the Biktrix line-up.