To My Fellow Cyclists: Quit the E-Bike Hate [Bicycling.com]

Aushiker

Region
Australia
City
Walyalup, Western Australia
I am a cyclist because it is how I make my living. And because it brings me the greatest joy in my life.

So, I think I qualify as a “real” cyclist. And to many of my fellow “real” cyclists, I say: Knock it off.

As long as I’ve been around this sport—again, my entire damn life—I’ve noticed how we tend to “us-and-them” other riders who don’t fit our vision of what a cyclist should look like. We form cliques and freeze out others who we feel don’t fit.

More in the article at Bicycling.com. Read it at your peril :)

Members only article. Sorry I am not interested in paying $30 a year on a subscription.

Members only article. Sorry I am not interested in paying $30 a year on a subscription.

I am not a subscriber (paid or otherwise) and can access the article so I have no idea as to this membership you refer to.

I'm sure it's a great article. :)
Maybe it's USA that wants our money? Time to whip out the VPN.

1708093697882.png

Was able to access the article through safari (iPhone) reader view. That’s a cool trick that I’ll use and share.

... or the Chrome reading mode.
Enabled Chrome reading mode on my Android. Didn't help but might not be using it properly.

But I did get to see the subtitle: LOVE YOUR FELLOW CYCLISTS, NO MATTER HOW THEY DRESS OR WHAT THEY RIDE.

Words to live by, but not always easy. Took me a while to accept the fact that many of the many ebikes in my hilly area are ridden mostly just for transportation with little pedaling other than ghost-pedaling involved.

But hey, every one of those represents a car not in the road, so good on them!

Last edited: