The rear tire always skids when I panic stop

siclmn

I live in the Pacific Northwest and the roads are always wet right now. On every ride I will have a panic stop and the rear wheel will skid. I have been riding bikes for 35 years and have always had the habit of squeezing both levers for maximum braking. But these new fangled disk brakes are so powerful that I am locking up the rear wheel with very little effort. I am thinking I might just buy some slick tires for maximum contact with the road. Is anybody else having this problem?

That phenomenon is well known in the automotive industry. Braking causes weight transfer to the front, the rear tends to lift and lock and then lose control. Before the era of ABS technology, they dealt with it by reducing the braking force at the rear to prevent rear skid and made the front stronger (with larger and vented front disk and non vented rear disks in most cars now). Same principle is now seen on many e-bikes where the front disks are slightly larger than the rear. The car industry further refined it with ABS technology where each wheel is prevented to lock independently.

Try using only a couple fingers on brake lever. Disc brakes are very responsive to lever movement. Right now I'm learning how to not rest my fingers on St2 brake lever. As only the slightest pressure activates regenerative braking.

Definitely recommend you train yourself to perform emergency stops under safe conditions and develop muscle memory and instinct, before you need to do a real one. It'll pay off in spades later.