Stunner X Chain just a little too Short

Ridetoglide

Region
USA
So I received the stunner X 24" 40 days ago and put 180 miles on it so far. It shifts and operates well in low gear however I noticed when in low gear the derailleur was almost fully extended forward. I'm not a bike mechanic or manufacturer so I'm not 100% sure how "ok" that is... i'm sure it is fine but my OCD wanted to make it better.

I ended up buying a KMC X9 chain. I removed 4'' (2 full links) and added it to the original chain. (From 58" to 62"). The limiting factor was how far back the derailleur can go in high gear, too far back and the chain looses tension. ( I tried adding 6" initially but the derailleur went too far back in high gear)

I also had to adjust the low gear stop screw in a half of turn... the chain almost jump off the low gear ring while downshifting. I also adjusted the derailleur cable adjuster in 1/4 of a turn... probably due to the new cable stretching. it needed a small adjustment after 100 miles or so.

Note the pics below: Low gear before and after, High gear before and after....

Attachments

• IMG_7302.JPG
    IMG_7302.JPG
    72.2 KB · Views: 247
  • IMG_7303.JPG
    IMG_7303.JPG
    70.9 KB · Views: 234
  • IMG_7307.JPG
    IMG_7307.JPG
    69.9 KB · Views: 256
  • IMG_7306.JPG
    IMG_7306.JPG
    68.7 KB · Views: 261
So I received the stunner X 24" 40 days ago and put 180 miles on it so far. It shifts and operates well in low gear however I noticed when in low gear the derailleur was almost fully extended forward. I'm not a bike mechanic or manufacturer so I'm not 100% sure how "ok" that is... i'm sure it is fine but my OCD wanted to make it better.

I ended up buying a KMC X9 chain. I removed 4'' (2 full links) and added it to the original chain. (From 58" to 62"). The limiting factor was how far back the derailleur can go in high gear, too far back and the chain looses tension. ( I tried adding 6" initially but the derailleur went too far back in high gear)