Stromer ST2 - Technical review

Ravi Kempaiah

Region
Canada
City
Halifax
I have learnt quite a bit from reading other people's experiences on this forum. As a researcher, I enjoy learning new technologies and keeping up with the pace.

Close to 18 months ago, I put together this presentation for my own understanding but being lazy, I never published it anywhere.

This may interest people who like to learn more about the ST2 E-bike and the platform.

I have close to 20,000 miles on different E-bikes and having ridden both mid-drives and hub motors, I feel that there are + and - to both. There is no question in my mind that DD hubs are superior for high-speed cruising. I could never emulate the efficiency of an ST2 motor on Bosch/Yamaha/Brose powered bikes at 20+ mph speeds.

The following series of pictures is purely for the purpose of understanding the system better, not for any promotional purposes.

If I am missing something, feel free to add/modify.

Slide1.JPG
Slide2.JPG
Slide3.JPG
Slide4.JPG
Slide5.JPG
Slide6.JPG
Slide7.JPG
Slide8.JPG
Slide9.JPG
Slide10.JPG
Slide11.JPG
Slide12.JPG
Slide13.JPG
Slide14.JPG
Slide15.JPG
Slide16.JPG
Slide17.JPG
Slide18.JPG
Slide19.JPG
Slide20.JPG

What an exciting compilation, thanks Ravi!

I have close to 20,000 miles on different E-bikes and having ridden both mid-drives and hub motors, I feel that there are + and - to both. There is no question in my mind that DD hubs are superior for high-speed cruising. I could never emulate the efficiency of an ST2 motor on Bosch/Yamaha/Brose powered bikes at 20+ mph speeds.

Good to read this from somebody, who's ridden all brands.

I've publish two pics of the ST2 motor, feel free to use them to illustrate "no more controller inside"

A tech guy told me, the efficiency of the ST2 motor drops sharp above 48km/h. But for the Si2, the build a few Stromer which reach above 60km/h (they have to support the airplane)...

upload_2017-5-11_20-33-0.png

upload_2017-5-11_20-33-34.png