RadWagon Power Issue - HELP - I've tried everything

pearlbeer

I have a 2020 RagWagon (w/ the larger wheels).
For background: The bike has 3,000mi on her. I'm a pretty good mechanic and keep my bikes in good shape. It's never been wrecked and has generally been dry and kept in a climate controlled, covered environment.

A number of months ago I rode to see Bruce Springsteen. On the way back the bike started dropping power. (apparently, baby, I wasn't born to run). Everything works as normal, but as the power kicks in, the power seems to ramp up to the expected level and then drops completely. I can even see on the display where the wattage runs up to a few hundred watts then drops to zero. This happens at all PAS levels and is identical when using or not using the throttle. I can get power back by turning the unit off/on. Pedaling backwards seems to work sometimes, as well as just waiting for a bit (20-30secs?), sometimes. However, any power recovery just sees the issue repeating itself right away.

I'll keep this post strictly to solving the mechanical problems, rather than complain about recent RAD parts and service. I just really want to get this fixed and I'm all out of options, and like Air Supply said, I'm all out of love.

Here's what I have done (in the order I recall):
  • General maintenance and inspecting connections and wires (issue repeats)
  • Inspect crank (issue repeats)
  • Unplug and isolate brake sensor cables (issue repeats)
  • Replaced fuses in battery (issue repeats)
  • Borrowed a RAD battery from a friend to test the battery itself (issue repeats)
  • Ordered and installed a new controller from RAD (issue repeats)
  • Ordered and installed a full rear wheel assembly from RAD (issue repeats)
  • Ordered and installed a battery tray from RAD (issue repeats)
  • Ordered and installed new wiring harness from RAD (issue repeats)