New Vado Puts The Wind Back In My Sails…

PapaBill

Region
USA
Hello from Northern California. Recently purchased a Vado 3.0 (my first e-bike) hoping to add length to my rides. Just entering my 7th decade and my legs are not what they once were. I’ve been riding on and off for many years. I currently also ride a Klein Stage Comp T road bike and a Gary Fisher Big Sur mountain bike.

The challenge I’m having with the new Vado is its more upright riding position. Not very comfortable after the first 10 miles. I prefer to move around in the saddle and change positions on the handlebar. After many lateral saddle adjustments I still have some sit bone discomfort. Some of my first mods will be new grips and bar ends (inner and/or outer). Possibly a new saddle but that’s a slippery slope. Any suggestions to help me in my quest for a more comfortable ride will be greatly appreciated. I ride 90% pavement. Hope to ride more gravel. Not much single track anymore. My goal is to have 50 mile rides become the norm not the exception.

Great forum. I’ve learned quite a bit in a short period of time. Excited to join the community.

The challenge I’m having with the new Vado is its more upright riding position. Not very comfortable after the first 10 miles. I prefer to move around in the saddle and change positions on the handlebar. After many lateral saddle adjustments I still have some sit bone discomfort. Some of my first mods will be new grips and bar ends (inner and/or outer).
The Innerbarends are highly recommended.

My feeling is your Vado is in too small size for you. If you cannot return and replace the e-bike, my recommendation would be installing a long stem on your Vado, and possibly "slam it" into the negative angle. You will also need to relocate the display to either side of the stem.

My Vado is a different model from yours but my mods could pertain to you.